Iowa 300 Fast Facts

 Race weekend: Friday, July 19 – Saturday, July 20Track: Iowa Speedway, a 7/8-mile (0.894-mile) oval in Newton, Iowa

Race distance: 300 laps / 268.2 miles

Entry List: Iowa 300 (PDF)

Firestone tire allotment: Ten sets for use through the weekend

Twitter: @iowaspeedway, @IndyCar, #Iowa300, #IndyCar

Event website:

INDYCAR website:

2018 race winner: James Hinchcliffe (No. 5 Arrow Electronics SPM Honda)

2018 NTT P1 Award winner: Will Power (No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet), 35.2913 seconds, 182.391 mph (two laps)

One-lap qualifying record: Helio Castroneves, 17.2283 seconds, 186.809 mph, July 11, 2014

Two-lap qualifying record: Scott Dixon, 34.5588 seconds, 186.256 mph, July 11, 2014

NBCSN television broadcasts: Qualifying, 2 p.m. ET Friday, July 19 (live); Race, 7 p.m. ET Saturday, July 20 (live). Leigh Diffey is the lead announcer for the NBCSN broadcasts this weekend alongside analysts AJ Allmendinger and Paul Tracy. Pit reporters are Kevin Lee, Dillon Welch and Robin Miller.

Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network broadcasts: Mark Jaynes is the chief announcer alongside analyst Anders Krohn. Jake Query is the turn announcer with Dave Furst, Nick Yeoman and Michael Young reporting from the pits. All NTT IndyCar Series races are broadcast live on the Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network, Sirius 98, XM 202,, and on the INDYCAR Mobile app powered by NTT DATA. Live coverage of NTT IndyCar Series qualifying is available on Sirius 219, XM 209,, and the INDYCAR Mobile app.

NBC Sports Gold livestreaming: All NTT IndyCar Series practice sessions and qualifying will stream live on INDYCAR Pass on NBC Sports Gold, NBC Sports’ direct-to-consumer livestreaming product.

At-track schedule (all times local):

Friday, July 19

10 – 11 a.m. – NTT IndyCar Series practice #1, NBC Sports Gold (live)

1:15 p.m. – Qualifying for the NTT P1 Award (single car/two timed laps), NBCSN (live); NBC Sports Gold (live)

6 – 7 p.m. – NTT IndyCar Series practice #2, NBC Sports Gold (live)

Saturday, July 20

5:35 p.m. – Driver introductions

6:10 p.m. – Command to start engines

6:15 p.m. – Iowa Corn 300 (300 laps/268.2 miles), NBCSN (live)

Race notes:

  • There have been six different winners in 11 NTT IndyCar Series races in 2019: Josef Newgarden (Streets of St. Petersburg, Raceway at Belle Isle Park-1 and Texas Motor Speedway), Colton Herta (Circuit of The Americas), Takuma Sato (Barber Motorsports Park), Alexander Rossi (Streets of Long Beach and Road America), Simon Pagenaud (Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Oval and Streets of Toronto) and Scott Dixon (Raceway at Belle Isle Park-2). The record for most different winners in a season is 11 in 2000, 2001 and 2014.
  • There have been seven different NTT P1 Award winners in 2019. Will Power (Streets of St. Petersburg and Circuit of The Americas), Takuma Sato (Barber Motorsports Park and Texas Motor Speedway), Alexander Rossi (Streets of Long Beach, Raceway at Belle Isle Park-1), Felix Rosenqvist (Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course) Simon Pagenaud (Indianapolis Motor Speedway Oval and Streets of Toronto), Josef Newgarden (Raceway at Belle Isle Park-2) and Colton Herta (Road America). The record for most pole winners in a season is 12 set in the 1999 CART season.
  • The Iowa 300 will be the 13th NTT IndyCar Series event at Iowa Speedway. Ryan Hunter-Reay and James Hinchcliffe are the only active drivers to win at Iowa Speedway more than once. Hunter-Reay has three wins (2012, 2014 and 2015), while Hinchcliffe (2013 and 2018) has two. Past winners Josef Newgarden (2016), Marco Andretti (2011) and Tony Kanaan (2010) are also entered in the event.
  • The Iowa 300 will be the third oval race on the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series schedule. The previous two races were won by Simon Pagenaud (Indianapolis 500) and Josef Newgarden (Texas Motor Speedway). The remaining two oval races will take place at Pocono Raceway (Aug. 18) and World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway (Aug. 24).
  • Andretti Autosport has won seven of the 12 previous races at Iowa Speedway, including six of the last nine races (Dario Franchitti 2007, Tony Kanaan 2010, Marco Andretti 2011, Ryan Hunter-Reay 2012, 2014 and 2015 and James Hinchcliffe 2013). Chip Ganassi Racing has two wins (Dan Wheldon 2008 and Franchitti 2009). Ed Carpenter Racing, which won the event in 2016 with Josef Newgarden, Team Penske, which won in 2017 with Helio Castroneves, and Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, which won last year’s race with Hinchcliffe, have each won at Iowa once.
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay and Dario Franchitti are the only drivers to win at Iowa Speedway and win the NTT IndyCar Series championship in the same season. Hunter-Reay accomplished the feat in 2012 and Franchitti in 2007 and 2009.
  • No driver has won the NTT IndyCar Series race at Iowa Speedway from the pole.
  • Three drivers have competed in every NTT IndyCar Series race at Iowa: Marco Andretti, Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan. All are entered this year. Thirteen drivers entered have led laps at the track (Josef Newgarden 623, Kanaan 523, James Hinchcliffe 290, Dixon 126, Andretti 94, Will Power 80, Ryan Hunter-Reay 54, Graham Rahal 19, Ed Carpenter 18, Simon Pagenaud 13, Takuma Sato 10, Sebastien Bourdais 6 and Alexander Rossi 4).
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay finished on the podium in five of the last seven Iowa Speedway races (2012-2015 and 2017) … Josef Newgarden has finished in the top four in four of the last five races at Iowa (2014-2016 and 2018) … Tony Kanaan has finished on the podium in five of his last nine races at Iowa … Marco Andretti has finished on the podium in four of his 12 starts at Iowa Speedway … Scott Dixon has started on pole three times (two earned) and has nine top-10 finishes at Iowa in 11 starts, but he has never finished better than third.
  • Rookies Marcus Ericsson, Santino Ferrucci, Colton Herta and Felix Rosenqvist will race an NTT IndyCar Series car at Iowa Speedway for the first time this weekend. Herta previously raced at Iowa Speedway in Indy Lights.
  • Tony Kanaan seeks to start his 312th consecutive race this weekend, which would extend his Indy car record streak that began in June 2001 at Portland. Kanaan is second all time in career starts after making his 370th start at Road America on June 23. Mario Andretti holds the record with 407.
  • Scott Dixon has made 252 consecutive starts heading into the weekend, which is the second-longest streak in Indy car racing. Marco Andretti has made 228 consecutive starts, which is the third-longest streak in Indy car racing.
  • Scott Dixon, the longest-tenured driver for Chip Ganassi Racing, is third on the all-time Indy car victory list with 45 wins. Sebastien Bourdais is sixth on the all-time list with 37 wins and Will Power is tied with Bobby Unser for seventh on the all-time list with 35 wins.
  • Sebastien Bourdais will attempt to make his 200th Indy car start at Iowa. The four-time Indy car champion will become the 25th driver to reach the milestone in his career.